

The first edition of the International Conference WWW/Internet 2002 was held in Lisbon, Portugal at the IST Congress Center, November 13-15, 2002.

This Conference's purpose was to address the major issues of concern within WWW/Internet. The conference was able to cover both technological as well as non-technological issues related to WWW and Internet developments. It served as a forum that gathered researchers, practitioners, students and anyone that was working or studying in the field of the WWW/Internet.

The Conference Program was organized into thirty-nine thematic areas, namely Accessibility, Adaptive Web Systems, Collaboration, Cyber Law, Data Mining, Database Planning and Development, Digital Libraries and E-Publishing, Digital Textuality, E-Business and E-Commerce, E-Learning, Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), Evaluation and Assessment, Geographical Information Systems, Global Tendencies in WWW/Internet, Groupware, Human Computer Interaction, Information Architectures, Information Visualization, Intelligent Agents, Interfaces, Languages, Metadata, Multimedia, Portal strategies, Protocols and Standards, Quality in WWW/Internet Systems, Searching and Browsing, Security Issues, Storage Issues, System Integration, Technology Strategies, Tele-Work, WWW/Internet Case studies, Web Personalization, Wireless Applications, Ubiquitous Computing, Virtual Communities, Virtual Reality and XML.



This first edition received about 240 submissions from more than 30 countries. Each submission was anonymously reviewed by at least two independent reviewers, to ensure the final high standard of the accepted submissions. The final result was the approval of 58 full papers, which meant that the acceptance rate was below 25%. The other papers were accepted as short papers and posters.

Consequently, the conference program featured an opening and closing sessions, 40 parallel paper sessions, 3 Keynote Presentations, 4 Corporate Sessions, 2 Doctoral Consortium Presentations and a Poster Session. In addition to the presentation of papers the conference offered 5 post-conference Tutorials Presentations.



**Keynote Presentation:** 

"FROM ADAPTIVE HYPERMEDIA TO THE ADAPTIVE WEB"



by Professor Peter Brusilovsky, University of Pittsburgh, USA



## **Keynote Presentation:**

## "ESSENTIAL INGREDIENTS OF AN E- LEARNING ENVIRONMENT"



by Professor Hermann Maurer, Graz U. of Technology, Austria



## **Keynote Presentation:**

## "CRAFTING STRATEGY FOR THE SUCCESSFUL E-LEARNING BUSINESS"



by Professor Dias de Figueiredo, University of Coimbra, Portugal

#### **Conference Tutorial:**

## "VISUALIZING INFORMATION IN THE CLASSROOM: A TUTORIAL"



by Sam Geonetta, University of Cincinnati, USA

## **Conference Tutorial:**

## "META-DATA AND META-LEARNING OF DISTRIBUTED EXPERIMENTS"



by Claude Dussart and Claude Petit, Laboratoire LASS, Université De Lyon, France

#### **Conference Tutorial:**

# "SC-CONTEXTUALIZED CONTENT COMP(AP)REENSION/ADVERTISEMENT DEPLOYMENT TOOL"

by João Tedim, Senso Comum Lda. - CEO for Organization and Resource Management, Portugal

## **Conference Tutorial:**

## "METADATA AND STANDARDS FOR E-LEARNING"



by Maria Helena Braz, Sean Sigueira and Rubens Melo

#### **Conference Tutorial:**

#### "IDENTITY IS THE ANSWER"



by Lisa C. Henriques

In general the Conference offered an opportunity to all their participants to discuss with success the most significant aspects regarding the theme WWW/Internet. It served as a forum that gathered researchers, practitioners, students and anyone that was working or studying in the field of the WWW/Internet.

The Conference Proceedings was both published in Book (ISBN: 972-9027-53-6) and CD-ROM by IADIS Press.



#### **Program Committee Members:**

Ana Regina da Rocha, PUC-Rio, Brasil

Antonio Camara, FCT - New University of Lisbon, Portugal

Antonio Palma dos Reis, ISEG - Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

Antonio Vallecillo, Universidad de Malaga, Spain

Barbara Grabowski, Penn State University, USA

Brian Mackie, Northern Illinois University, USA

Carmen Pancerella, Sandia National Laboratories. USA

Christof Fetzer, AT&T Research Labs, USA

Dahlia Malkhi, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Daniel German, University of Victoria, Canada

Daniel Schwabe, PUC-Rio, Brasil

Elmootazbellah Elnozahy, IBM Austin Research Lab, USA

Emilia Mendes, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Enrico Motta, The Open University, United Kingdom

G H Galal, University of North London, United Kingdom

Gene Golovchinsky, FX Palo Alto Laboratory, USA

Guido Wirtz, University of Münster, Germany

Gustavo Rossi, UNLPam, Argentina

Harri Oinas-Kukkonen, University of Oulu, Finland

Hermann Maurer, Graz University of Technology, Austria

Jacqueline Bourdeau, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Canada

Jaime Sanchez, University of Chile, Chile

James Thong, H.K. University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Jinlin Chen, University Of Pittsburgh, USA

Joaquim Aparício, FCT - New University of Lisbon, Portugal

Joaquim Filipe, Instituto Politecnico de Setubal, Portugal

Jochen Schiller, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Jonathan Grudin, Microsoft, USA

José Tribolet, IST - Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal

Juan Cueva Lovelle, Oviedi University, Spain

Kai Jakobs, Technical University of Aachen, Germany

Kathia Oliveira, Univ. Católica de Brasília (Catholic Univ. of Brasília), Brasil

Katy Borner, Indiana University, USA

K. van der Meer, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Kinshuk, Massey University, New Zealand

Lech Janczewski, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Lyn Henderson, James Cook University, Australia

Luis Olsina, UNLPam, Argentina Luisa Mich, University of Trento, Italy

Marco Painho, ISEGI - New University of Lisbon, Portugal

Martin Gaedke, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Maytham Safar, Kuwait University, Kuwait

Max Muehlhaeuser, Tech University of Darmstadt, Germany

Michael B. Spring, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Michel Crampes, Ecole des Mines d'Ales, France

Milos Kravcik, Fraunhofer FIT, Germany

Narayana Jayaram, University of North London, United Kingdom

Nicola Henze, Institut Für Technische Informatik, Germany

Nitya Karmakar, University of Western Sydney, Australia

Nuno Guimaraes, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Oscar Pastor, Universidad Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

Peter Brusilovsky, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Peter Gregor, University of Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom

Perluigi Novi Inverardi, University of Trento, Italy

Piet Ribbers, Tilburg University, Netherlands

Pirkko Walden, Abo Akademi, Finland

Ricardo Orosco, UADE, Argentina

Riccardo Rizzo, Itdf - Consiglio Nazionale Delle Ricerche, Italy

Slimane Hammoudi, École Supérieure d'Eléctronique de l'Ouest, France

Steven A. Demurjian, The University of Connecticut, USA

Subbarayan Venkatesan, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Susana Pajares Tosca, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Tomonari Kamba, Nec Corporation, Japan

Tiffany A. Koszalka, Syracuse University, USA

Timo Koivumäki, University of Oulu, Finland

Umberto Martini, University of Trento, Italy

Weigin Chen, University of Bergen, Norway

Yogesh Deshpande, University of Western Sydney, Australia

Vladimir Uskov, Bradley University, USA

#### **Auxiliary Reviewers**

Arun Tripathi, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Daniel Riesco, UNSL, Argentina

Dnyanesh Rajpathak, The Open University, United Kingdom

Jose Malaquias, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal

Marco Carrasco, ESCHT - University of Algarve, Portugal

Osvaldo Brasão, IST - Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal

Siponen Mikko, University of Oulu, Finland

Vitorino Ramos, IST - Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal